West Bengal
State University

(Barasat, North 24 Parganas)
  • admin@wbsu.ac.in
  • 033 2524 1976
  • Berunanpukuria, P.O. Malikapur, Barasat,
    North 24 Parganas, WB, PIN 700126

Event Details

Outreach Programme on “MENTAL HEALTH AWARENESS” at Bolpur, Birbhum

Schedule Event Date: 12th November 2022

The stage and the adjacent field of the Raipur Yuba Sangha (near Bolpur; District: Birbhum) came to life as the students and faculties of the Department of Psychology, West Bengal State University (WBSU) had a successful Mental Health Awareness initiative as a part of their ‘Outreach Programme’.
Mr. Badal Singha, secretary of Raipur Yuba Sangha, set the ball rolling with his welcome address only to be followed with a brief introductory speech delivered by Dr. Sanchita Ghosh, Coordinator of the Department of Psychology (WBSU). Emphasising on the significances of such endeavor, Dr. Ghosh gave an outline of the programme. Then it was Dr. Amitava Sengupta’s turn to speak on the pieces of dramatized performances the students of the department were about to stage. Immediately after his speech, the students of the department performed before the audience, coming from the local villages and also from Bolpur.
A few social maladies were represented in those dramatized performances that people watched with rapt attention and broke into applause when it was over. The reaction of the audience signalled that the interactive session, the wrap-up part of the programme was going to be lively and so it actually was. The local people opened up, shared their respective experiences and stressed repeatedly on the importance of such events.
The Department of Psychology is grateful to the Honorable Vice Chancellor, Dr. Mahua Das for her active guidance and support to this outreach programme.
Community Outreach Team:
1.Sushmita Das
2.Sukriti Mukherjee
3.Sriza Halder
4. Eshita Chatterjee
5.Promila Das
6.Sristi Dutta
7.Babli Mukherjee
8.Riya Sultana Mondal
9.Jayanta Sutradhar
10. Debangshu Chanda
11.Debasmita Das
12.Mrs.Madhurima Dey Sarkar
13.Dr.Amitava Sengupta
14.Dr. Sanchita Ghosh
Special thanks to:
Dr. Sreemoyee Tarafder
Sharmistha Chakraborty
Nilanshuk Dutta
Biswajit Roy Chaudhuri

« of 2 »