West Bengal
State University

(Barasat, North 24 Parganas)
  • registrar@wbsu.ac.in
  • 033 2524 1976
  • Berunanpukuria, P.O. Malikapur, Barasat,
    North 24 Parganas, WB, PIN 700126

Department of Rural Studies

The Department of Rural Studies (Previously the Department of Agriculture and Rural Development) was established in 2009 with a strong interdisciplinary focus offering Two-year Master Degree course in Rural Studies as ‘Master of Rural Studies (MRS)’. Ph. D. programme was also initiated in the year 2011. The Department seeks to combine socially relevant and thematically updated curriculum with emerging innovations to ensure quality teaching as well as meaningful research.


In tune with the interdisciplinary mandate, the Department looks forward to drawing students (Honours Graduate) from different disciplines. Thematically, the course outline exposes the students to the following: (a) Social, institutional and economic issues including globalization which are extremely relevant for in-depth understanding of the rural reality of India in particular (b) A technocratic lens to understand the operational elements within the rural context (c) Environmental issues that are of contemporary relevance (d) A regional framework for holistic appreciation of rural issues.


Besides, the Department also imparts training in statistical and spatial analysis tools through use of software and organizes extensive fieldwork in the rural areas/villages. In addition, the Department also takes initiatives towards a one month internship Programme as a part of its course curriculum in order to enhance institutional linkages. This has emerged as strong capacity building element which helps students to get absorbed in the job market as well as to pursue meaningful research.


Significant Milestones of the Department

Category Details
Advanced Research Awarded PhD: 03
Submitted: 01
Currently registered: 06
Awards / Fellowships DST INSPIRE: 03
Rajiv Gandhi National Fellowship : 01
Professional achievement of students of the Department Govt. Sector: Assistant Professor in University; Assistant teacher in school; Assistant Manager in Coal India; Department of Agriculture (ATMA); Central Institute of Brackish water Aquaculture; State Department Projects (Utkarsh Bangla etc); Department of Panchayat & Rural Development; Municipalities, MGNREGA Cell; Agriculture Training Centre.

Non-Government Sectors: Placed in NGOs like PRADAN, NEWS, MANT, CINI, Pratichi Trust, DRCSC ,CARE etc.


Faculty Members:
Name Designation Email
PROF. SUKLA BASU PROFESSOR & H.O.D. dr.basusukla@gmail.com
DR. BISWAJIT PAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR biswajit.pal22@gmail.com, biswajit.wbsu@gmail.com
Visiting Faculty Members:
Name Designation Email
Programme Level of study Eligibility
M.Sc PG B.Sc.
Contact with us:

Department of Rural Development, West Bengal State University,
Barasat, Kolkata-700126, WB, India
Fax: 033-25241977/ 033-25241978